in the Public Works Department, Hydrographic Surveys, etc., are also available for graduates. The McGill University and the University of Toronto admit graduates to the third year in their Science Faculties, and the law schools also offer privileges.

## Department of the Naval Service.

The Naval Service of Canada was established by the Naval Service Act, 1910, chapter 43. As established by that Act, the Department consisted of the following branches:—

1. Naval Service.

2. Fisheries Protection Service.

3. Tidal and Current Survey.

4. Hydrographic Survey.

5. Radiotelegraph Service.

In 1914 the Fisheries Service and Life Saving Service were transferred from the Marine Department to the Naval Department, but these two services were again placed under the Marine and

Fisheries Department on July 1, 1920.

During the Session of 1922, the Government brought down legislation providing for the establishment of a Department of National Defence to be formed from the Department of Militia and Defence, Department of the Naval Service and the Canadian Air Board. This Act has by Proclamation been made effective Jan. 1, 1923.

On July 1, 1922, the Naval Service Department was reorganized preparatory to becoming part of the National Defence Department, and the Fisheries Protection Service, Tidal and Current Survey, Hydrographic Survey, Patrol of Northern Waters, and Radiotelegraph Service were placed under the jurisdiction of the

Department of Marine and Fisheries.

During the Session of 1922 the Government announced its intention of establishing Naval Reserve Forces in Canada; it also announced that one destroyer and two patrol vessels would be maintained on each coast for training purposes, these ships to be manned by officers and men of the Royal Canadian Navy. In preparation for carrying out the programme announced by the Government, the cruiser "Aurora" and submarines "C.H. 14" and "C.H. 15" were placed in reserve, and the Royal Naval College of Canada at Esquimalt and the Youths' Training Establishment at Halifax, were closed. The dockyard at Halifax was reduced to a supply base, and all workshops were closed. Naval barracks for the accommodation of officers and men of the Royal Canadian Navy, and also of the reserve, were established at Halifax and Esquimalt, and full preparations were made for the organization and maintenance of the Naval Reserve Forces.

The headquarters offices of the Naval Department at Ottawa, were moved from the Hunter Building to the third and sixth floors of the Canadian Building, and the staffs have been re-organized in readiness for amalgamation in the formation of the Department of

National Defence.